icon

FRIBOURG

The 61st Gordon Bennett Aeronautical World Cup will be hosted in Gruyère, Switzerland in the Canton of Fribourg, at the heart of the Alpine foothills.

The Canton of Fribourg lies at the crossroads of French- and German-speaking Switzerland, tradition and modernity, historical heritage and contemporary culture, urban spirit and a countryside abounding with beautiful landscapes. With 307,000 inhabitants, Fribourg is also one of three officially bilingual cantons with 68% of the population speaking French (main language) and 28% speaking German. The Canton of Fribourg is located on the main roads and railway routes of Switzerland and Europe, less than 90 minutes from the country’s key regions and major airports (Basel, Bern, Geneva and Zurich).

The Canton of Fribourg distinguishes itself by the diversity of its appeals to tourists (link to Fribourg Region): lively traditions, excellent local food, the ever-present beauty of nature, summer and winter activities, cultural riches and business tourism. The Canton of Fribourg can be divided into three distinct regions— the cool mountain air in the south  (the Pre-Alps : GruyèreRomont and regionChâtel-St-Denis and les PaccotsSchwarzsee), the tranquility of the lakes in the north (the Three-Lakes Region : Morat, Estavayer-le-Lac and Payerne) and the city of Fribourg serving as the cultural, linguistic and geographic bridge between the various geographic regions.

VOLUNTEERS

join the Gordon Bennett 2017 team by signing up to volunteer:

SIGN UP

NEWSLETTER

Get up-close to the adventure:

SIGN UP

With a rich cultural past, Fribourg’s long history is evidenced by its rich architectural heritage which includes Roman ruins, medieval cities and castles in addition to churches and chapels. The canton has an abundance of museums and art galleries featuring both temporary and permanent collections. Some examples include the Musée gruérien, Vitromusée or l’Espace Jean Tinguely – Niki de Saint Phalle). There is a wide choice of theaters and concert halls in the canton, including EquilibreThéâtre des Osses, Fri-Son, or Ebullition and l’Azimut. During the summer, Fribourg also hosts a number of internationally renowned festivals, such as the Festival de Musique Sacrée, Estivale, Les Georges or Bad Bonn Kilbi. In the spring, the city of Fribourg becomes the stage of the Festival International de Films de Fribourg (FIFF), a festival which has only grown in popularity and quality since its first edition.

Located halfway between Germany and France, Fribourg is the meeting place of two cultures and the two largest markets in Europe. In a little over twenty years, the Canton of Fribourg has experienced incredible economic growth with exports almost quadrupling between 1995 and 2015 (+263%). The main sectors of the economy in Fribourg include pharmaceuticals, biotechnology, life science, IT, telecommunications, mechanical engineering, electronics, financial and business services. Fribourg is a platform for activities ranging from research and development, high-tech manufacturing, regional distribution and international management. The Canton of Fribourg also has a number of technology parks including Vivier, the Marly Innovation Center and blueFACTORY.

A dense network of institutions of higher education has developed around Fribourg. In addition to a university which attracts more than 10,000 students from many different countries, Fribourg has five technical colleges and institutes specializing in engineering and architecture, management, healthcare, education and social work. Specialized schools have also been set up in the canton, dealing with subjects such as business, agriculture, music, art, multimedia and hospitality training.

ACCOMMODATIONS

to find accommodations in the area:

FRIBOURG RÉGION

Photos © : Laurent Sciboz, Fribourg Région, Emoiphoto.ch

icon

FRIBOURG

La 61ème coupe aéronautique de ballons à gaz, la coupe du monde Gordon Bennett est organisée en Suisse dans le canton de Fribourg, en Gruyère, au cœur des Préalpes fribourgeoises.

Le canton de Fribourg est un canton trait d’union entre la Suisse romande et alémanique, la tradition et la modernité, le patrimoine historique et la culture contemporaine, l’esprit de la ville et une campagne riche de paysages admirables. Fort de quelque 307’000 habitants, Fribourg est également l’un des trois cantons suisses officiellement bilingue avec 68% de la population parlant le français (langue principale) et 28% l’allemand. Le canton de Fribourg est situé sur les principaux axes routiers et ferroviaires de Suisse et d’Europe, à moins de 90 minutes des principaux centres et aéroports du pays (Bâle, Berne, Genève et Zürich).

Fribourg, région touristique bercée par la culture: traditions vivantes; riche gastronomie; nature omniprésente; activités estivales et hivernales; richesses culturelles et tourisme d’affaires. Le canton de Fribourg se caractérise par trois régions : la fraicheur des montagnes au sud (les Préalpes fribourgeoises : la GruyèreRomont et régionChâtel-St-Denis et les PaccotsSchwarzsee), la douceur des lacs au nord (la région des Trois Lacs : Morat, Estavayer-le-Lac et Payerne) et la ville de Fribourg faisant office de pont culturel, linguistique et géographique entre les différentes zones géographiques.

BÉNÉVOLES

Rejoins l’équipe de la Gordon Bennett 2017 en devenant bénévole:

INSCRIPTION

NEWSLETTER

Suivez l’aventure de plus près:

INSCRIPTION

Extrêmement riche culturellement, Fribourg a une longue histoire, comme en témoigne notamment son riche patrimoine architectural : vestiges romains, villes et châteaux médiévaux, églises et chapelles. Le canton regorge de nombreux musées et galeries proposant des expositions permanentes comme temporaires (le Musée gruérien, le Vitromusée ou encore l’Espace Jean Tinguely – Niki de Saint Phalle). Dans le canton, les salles de spectacles et de concert sont nombreuses : Equilibre, le Théâtre des Osses, Fri-Son, ou encore Ebullition et l’Azimut. Durant l’été, Fribourg accueille également plusieurs festivals de renommée internationale : Festival international de musiques sacrées, l’Estivale, Les Georges ou encore le Bad Bonn Kilbi. Au printemps, la ville de Fribourg devient la scène du Festival International de Films de Fribourg (FIFF), qui n’a cessé depuis sa première édition de gagner en notoriété et en qualité.

 A mi-chemin entre l’Allemagne et la France, Fribourg est l’interface des deux cultures et des deux marchés les plus importants d’Europe. En un peu plus de deux décennies, le canton de Fribourg a connu un développement économique remarquable et ses exportations ont presque quadruplé entre 1995 et 2015 (+263%). Les branches principales de l’économie fribourgeoise sont : la pharma, la biotechnologie, les sciences de la vie, l’agro-alimentaire, l’informatique, les télécommunications, la mécanique, l’électronique, les services financiers et commerciaux. Fribourg sert de plateforme à des activités aussi différentes que la recherche et le développement, la production high-tech, la distribution régionale et le management international. Le canton de Fribourg compte également plusieurs parcs technologiques dont le Vivier, le Marly Innovation Center ou encore blueFACTORY.

En terre fribourgeoise, s’est également développé un dense réseau de hautes écoles. En plus d’une université cosmopolite, qui compte plus de 10’000 étudiants, on trouve à Fribourg cinq hautes écoles : d’ingénierie et d’architecture, de gestion, de santé, de pédagogie et de travail social. Des écoles spécialisées sont aussi établies dans le canton, couvrant les domaines du commerce, de l’agriculture, de la musique, de l’art, du multimédia et de la formation hôtelière.

HÉBERGEMENT

Pour trouver un hébergement dans la région:

FRIBOURG RÉGION

Photos © : Laurent Sciboz, Fribourg Région, Emoiphoto.ch